My Love For Topshop

I am a relentless self-shopper, I admit it. The high street is my happy place, I go there when I’m sad, when I’m happy, whenever I get paid, it’s the one place I can go and not feel silly walking around by myself. It’s my therapy, my self prescribed medication. I love having the activity afterwards of putting outfits together in order to make myself feel good inside.

When I was at University I had a student discount for hundreds of shops and I just got to like Topshop. Everything fit me and somehow everything went together. In the plain jeans I felt fashionable, and when you’re 19 living off a student loan, that is not easy to do. The prices go up all the time and fashion goes out of the window when you need to pay your rent and buy equipment for your course. They made it so easy to shop in one shop and have several outfits for the week!

My picks this week;

Trumpet Sleeve Top
Clean Rose Gold Watch
Embroidered Jamie Jeans

Prices nowadays don’t stop me strolling in there for my Jamie Jeans, my ballet flats and novelty sweatshirts because it’s always been my favourite. I call it high end high street, because a lot of people I meet wonder why I spend £40 on one pair of jeans but they don’t know the struggle of finding a pair that actually fits! 

This week I’ve been super naughty (considering that it’s Christmas and I should be buying presents for everyone else) and I’ve cheated on Topshop with late night online shopping on Selfridges.com.

I was sitting there, feeling my knuckles worked to the bone, and in a sad/happy kind of mood, I thought to myself I don’t have many things in life but I have what I need, so shouldn’t all the things I have be the best for me? It was an unfortunate mood to be in right after pay day but it resulted in a new handbag and jumper dress. My reasoning was that my ‘best’ large handbag (I have a ‘best’ small handbag too) is too heavy for my shoulder. I like to carry a lot of stuff around with me but I’m limited with my favourite bag because it’s heavy even when it’s empty. And of course I convinced myself that I wanted a jumper dress from The White Company because it was cashmere and in the sale!

Ted Baker Shoulder Bag

Afterwards I felt a little guilty spending money on myself on things that I don’t really need and vowed to only spend the rest of my  money this month on everyone else, the way it should be at Christmas time! As you can see I favour black. If I’m going to buy something expensive it has to be black to ensure I wear it to its limit of wearability.

Wool and Cashmere Blend Jumper Dress

I was considering how much stuff is really enough, after I pressed the pay button in PayPal and sold my soul to Selfridges. My sister and I often discuss our childhood and going without certain things, we were happy children, but you can’t help notice as a child the other children have considerably more. So, when we got our first jobs and our first pay slips that was what we both did, bought things for ourselves, because we could and we wanted to, except we never stopped even when the novelty wore off. Like an addiction we couldn’t shake.

When I have too much to squeeze into my little wardrobe I donate to charity, but as you look through at all the things you never wore or used it’s difficult not to feel dumb for buying them and wasting your money in the first place. We’ve all made those cheap Primark mistake buys just because it was £4, but it never fit and you never used it. That is my excuse for spending so much on so little, when you’ve spent £199 on a handbag you will wear it for at least 365 days.

[Images and links from Topshop.com & Selfridges.com]

Leave a Reply

