All I Want For Christmas… I Got

The most wonderful time of the year is breaking your neck to get the best presents for the people you love, and to see them open them and watch as a wave of happiness washes over them. It is humbling to buy slippers for relatives and find them utterly ecstatic at the thought of comfortable feet. This is the joys of being older and more simpler gifts being a pleasure to unwrap. Socks, pyjamas, dressing gowns, all things designed for comfort and warmth.

My family wanted this for me and I was grateful, I unwrapped fur lined slippers and fluffy dressing gowns and pyjamas with polar bears on them. I got socks and candles and quite a selection of perfumes. My real techniques make up brushes were a surprise from someone that I didn’t think knew me well and funky little trinkets that I wouldn’t think to buy myself but absolutely love. My sister bought me YSL make up, my mother Dior fragrance, my aunt Versace miniatures. All these wonderful gifts designed to make me happy, comfortable and feeling good.

I’ll tell you the one and only thing that meant the most to me amidst all the wonderful presents and gift vouchers, money and chocolates, the one thing that stood out and brought a tear to my eye. A card.

It was a card with ‘Daughter’ written on the front from a man who is not my father and has never desired to be, but who I’ve always craved acceptance and pride from. A man who, this Christmas it seems, finds me equal to his own flesh and blood for the first time in nineteen years. That card that cost £1.50 maybe, meant everything to me. That was truly Christmas as I’d never experienced it before.

~

We become very blind in the weeks before Christmas, stressed and running about buying presents for our loved ones, we forget in the bath of consumerism that simple things mean the most and this Christmas the simplest things made my world complete.

Enjoy the rest of 2016 and have a fabulous New Year.

X

Leave a Reply

