Telford Hotel & Golf Resort

I know what you’re thinking, and no, I’m not an avid golfer. 

A few weeks ago my Mom and Stepdad moved house and I did a lot of running around for them. I didn’t mind of course, I offered help whenever needed and it was gratefully received, and as you do, I didn’t expect anything in return so it was a complete surprise when I discovered my Stepdad had bought a Groupon voucher for me to go to a day spa. 

So, situated in Telford there’s a modern hotel and golf club approximately 5 miles from the main shopping centre with a glorious day spa tucked away at the side of the main hotel entrance. 


Now I’m no connoisseur of spas, I have only been to a handful and most of which were treatment only, these places were ill equipped and unable to keep you comfortable and occupied for long periods of time, so you just went home once you were done with your massage. I’d never had the experience of staying anywhere longer than that, some are so cold and have a harsh or outdated decor or occasionally remind me of a dental surgery.

We rolled up in the pouring rain at 10am, late and flustered and having to sprint across the car park. Once inside we were welcomed warmly despite our lateness (a road was closed, we had to use a diversion which took longer) in a very modestly sized reception/waiting area and rushed through the usual forms, illness, ailments, medication etc. Three girls swiftly came out to take us to our treatment rooms and the relaxing began…

I lay for 25 minutes enjoying a back, neck and scalp massage and then another 25 in pure bliss as my face was oiled and scrubbed and oiled again and then moisturised (I have very dry skin so this was amazing) they called this a mini facial and I’ll admit it was my favourite one out of the two. The Espa products they use there successfully managed to remove all my dead skin cells and as an added bonus the fragrances managed to calm my hectic mind.

I was so self conscious of my body prior to arriving but the dim lighting everywhere was not only calming but generous to those with a few more lumps and bumps than others, it highlighted nothing allowing me to comfortably move from pool to sauna to steam room to showers.

I felt the changing rooms were a little small, there weren’t really enough loungers by the pool as there were guests but despite that, I had such a wonderful and relaxing time using the facilities included with the voucher and met a few friendly people in the steam room (who I almost sat on).

To finish our treat day, we dressed and tottered on over to the bar and restaurant, utterly ravenous, and found a few guests dressed in robes and the odd golf member enjoying a cool drink, seen as they couldn’t play in the rain. The staff it seemed would do anything for you including bringing over a tray of tea and a gorgeous Danish pastry (which has now become my favourite thing). We stayed until the drinks ran out and there were no more light bites left and ventured home.
Purchasing this type of voucher is difficult as they sell out so quickly on the Groupon website, but it’s really worth a shot if you love a little pamper from time to time.

Groupon – Telford Hotel and Golf Resort
[image source: groupon.co.uk]

Leave a Reply

