My Skincare Journey

I can’t even begin to tell you how much money I have spent on skincare over the years, I have bad skin everywhere, and skin problems all over my body. I could be here for weeks discussing my insecurities about the scarring on my arms and the stretch marks on my legs but I’ll just stick to my face today.

I’m an unfortunate when it comes to skin, from birth I’ve been slathered in prescription E45 until I got to the dreaded teens. I was convinced my skin was too dry for bad acne. NOPE! I had bad acne and dry flaky skin. No product relieving the one issue without worsening the other. I had to choose whether I wanted to be spotty or dry on my face, some winters got so bad it would crack and bleed and I was left with scars and stretch marks from the lack of elasticity.

By about seventeen when I had just about tried every moisturiser or spot treatment from the drug store, I decided I needed to expand my price range because nothing affordable worked. When I got a job and was able to buy my own products I went high end and have been relatively happy since with some iffy days or months here and there, I’ve bought Clinique, Clarins, Dior, a combination of cleansers and toners from the various up market brands, a combination of drugstore cleansers and high end moisturisers, however I do often come running back to Clinique at the next available opportunity, despite rumours that the products can be harsh, maybe I need harsh!

A few months ago I had to go to a winter wedding and my skin was dried up from the cold weather and the stress of finding something to wear that I wasn’t going to freeze in for the dreaded group photo. It does not accept make up at this stage and it ruined the day for me. I kept catching a glimpse of myself when I could just to see how much worse it had gotten. It was awful. Although thankful it wasn’t my wedding and most people were ignoring me I still felt that I tainted the couples photos with my hideousness and that thought wouldn’t go away. I had used, prior to the day No.7 oils and masks, and new moisturisers to try to tame it but nothing would sink in, and the oils rested on the surface and my face became worse than I had ever seen it! That was the end of that! Once the wedding was over and it was the day after the stressful day before, I slunk off home, make up-less except for eyebrows, with my satin dress in a suit bag and hoped that nobody was close enough to notice or cared enough to log into memory the state of my face.

I suffer with light scarring you see, and not wearing make up is a no-no for me, so when my face is too dry to wear foundation or concealer my heart does sink into my stomach. So at the moment my regime (I hate that word) is Liz Earle hot cloth cleanser, it’s quite thick but it’s the consistency that I need, followed by Loreal micellar water, then onto Clinique Moisture Surge and finishing with Clinique Dramatically Different Lotion+ to be sure my face is hydrated, I also occasionally whip out a Nature Love hyaluronic face mask when I’m bored. These products work well for me, The cleanser can seem a little heavy in the summer but in the winter it’s great and again on hot summer days I forego the extra lotion, but lets face it, there aren’t many of those days around here..

My foundation of choice after many, many experimentations with drugstore brands like Bourjois and Rimmel (super, super spotty) is Dior Forever and with my skin I need something that does last forever, I had to sit awkwardly on a high stool while a stranger blotted at my face to test it out, walked around a little and decided it was the one for me!

My whole regime costs approximately £130 which is a lot for some but when you’ve wasted so much money on so many products (probably thousands of pounds!) it’s not too bad.

[Featured image: myskin.com]

Leave a Reply

