To Dress Or Not To Dress

According to Topshops size guide I have a size 12 bust with a size 14 waist and I’m in between size 16 and 18 hips. Err… what?!

Basically the website may as well prompt me when I click on the dresses section ‘no hope, don’t bother’. I love how easy dresses are but none of them fit me, it’s a fact I need to come to terms with.


So what is a girl to do when she is too small on the top and too big on the bottom for conventional clothes sizes? Not wear dresses I suppose, unless the 1950’s prom style suits and I don’t know about anyone else but I feel rather like a pleated teepee and I don’t like the fact that if you sit for too long you get to look like a creased trash bag for the rest of the day. There is very little choice around.

So, I’m thinking about this because I have to go to a wedding at the end of July that I’ve been trying to find a dress for since March and with just under 3 weeks to go, I’m quickly running out of time, and it doesn’t help that I don’t have time to physically shop, I have to order online which takes ten times as long.

I had been frantically checking cheaper high street stores first as it’s friends of my fiancé I didn’t really put too much value on my dress code. With these kind of weddings I tend to linger in the back ground because nobody really knows me that well so a plain dress from H&M wouldn’t have attracted any scrutiny. I couldn’t find anything that looked like it would accommodate my large hips and small shoulders so I gave up on that quite quickly and have now opted for a dress from my favourite. Topshop.


I’ve bought Broderie Midi Dress in a (coughs) 14 for £65 just now. I love the textures of it but unsure of the colour on me, but I feel that it’s outdoor wedding appropriate. I’m pairing it with these very open and airy Gold Leather Sandals (I’m a size 7, shhh) as I am so clumsy as it is and can’t be dealing with conquering the great outdoors with any kind of heel.


Wish me luck!

X

[all images from topshop.com]

Leave a Reply

